Jadakiss: 20 classiques décortiqués…


Aprés Primo, c’ est au tour de Jadakiss de décortiquer 20 de ses classiques…

 title=

The Last Kiss → Jadakiss (2009)

“Def Jam didn’t expect this album to do as well as it did. They expected it to do dirt. It shocked them. They had to come back and get on the bandwagon [laughs]. This is the last album that will have the Kiss title on it. When I signed with Roc-A-Fella it wasn’t like Jay was right there coaching me or doing anything big. It was the fact that the fans seeing me affiliated with him sparked interest back up for me because I had not released an album in five years. That was a challenge for me because the music scene had changed. They were doing ‘The Stinky Leg’ and ‘Party Like A Rock Star.’ It was a whole new era of peers involved in hip-hop. So for me to come out and still be able to cater to my fans that started with me in the early 90s and still reach these young kids that are my son’s age, I’m good money.

Doing a collabo like ‘Respect My Conglomerate’ with Busta Rhymes and Jeezy is something that brings spice to the game. Everybody likes the individual player, but you love to see all the great players come together. Why do you think the Miami Heat sells so many tickets? It brings an interest to the song. And working with Lil Wayne was great. I got the track for ‘Death Wish’ and it sounded scary…dark. I knew I wanted to put Weezy on something different than people were used to hearing him on. I like to come left field with my collabos, and Weezy was hot as fish grease. He nailed it.

‘Who’s Real’ got a lot of play. It felt like I knew what was going on at the time industry wise. That was the last song I recorded for the album. I needed one last song that was contemporary to what was going on. I didn’t want it to be too hard. I wanted the hook to be friendly for the kids. But I wanted the lyrics to be hard as shit. And who else is better to work with than Swizz Beatz? He made another banger for me. I was on my promo tour in the south when I leaked ‘Who’s Real.’ I let it come out from Atlanta and go all the way to New York. It was a hit in the Dirty South first, which was new for me. With this album, I showed that I had the game down to science.”

 title=

“Made You Look remix” → Nas feat. Ludacris and Jadakiss (2003)

“I remember Lenny from Columbia calling me saying, ‘Yo, Nas wants you on a remix.’ But it really happened before that when I went to the video shoot for the original ‘Made You Look.’ I see Nas, Jungle, Lenny and [Steve] Stoute. And they are like, ‘We are going to get you on the remix.’ And I’m like, ‘Yo, I can’t wait…send me that beat, now!’ I actually had the beat for three or four days, which was very different for me, so you can hear the difference.

I wrote this rhyme in front of my bathroom mirror. I came up listening to Nas when he came out with ‘Halftime.’ So whenever he sends you something you have to be on you’re A-game. It was always different when Nas, Jay or Big called. You know you have to outdo your best work. And when they put Luda on it that was a great look. It brought a whole other demographic to it. Nas gave people three different flavors. We performed it a lot at different shows. We did Summer Jam, which is always crazy. And we shot a live video in New York.”

 title=

“Banned From TV” → N.O.R.E.  feat. Big Pun, Nature, Cam’ron, Jadakiss & Styles P (1998)

“When you talk about this song you have to start with Pun. He was my man. He used to always tell me that I was his favorite rapper. We used to kick it a lot and he had a lot of love for me. There will be no other. He was a priceless piece of work that was lost in this hip-hop game. We should never underrate him…never forget him. He was an incredible lyricist.

Having Swizz Beatz do the track for ‘Banned From TV’ was great. But you want to hear something crazy? My solo song ‘All For The Love’ on that first Lox album was Swizz’ first beat heard by the world. I rhymed on the first Swizz Beatz track! So I had a one-up on everybody on ‘Banned’ [laughs]. We already heard the beat in the studio before, so Styles and me new exactly how to approach the song. We had a special synergy. Me and Styles would do that back and forth rhyme style like Run-DMC and EPMD. We admired all the groups that had two MC’s. I think the first time we recorded in that style was on ‘Dope Money’ on that Ruff Ryders compilation album. We just kept it going.

We knew when we laid our vocals on ‘Banned From TV’ we could not play around because we had all of these great rappers on one song together. Me and Styles sat down with each other like we were studying for an SAT or the Bar exam [laughs]. Styles would throw out a line and then I would bounce something off of him. Sometimes we shot each other ideas down. It took us hours to write it, but it was worth it. ‘Banned From TV’ is an incredible posse cut. I love all that ‘90s music. That’s what my IPod mainly consist of. Like I said, that was a golden era for hip-hop.”

 title=

“Niggaz Done Started Something”→ DMX  feat. the Lox and Mase(1998)

“At that time there was no where else to go but the studio. ‘Niggaz Done Started Something’ was a song that we had maybe a year before people even heard it. It was just laying around the studio and it didn’t belong to anybody. We would lay some verses to it from time to time. Mase would lay some verses as well. But it wasn’t until X laid his verse that it became his song. We were making records together so frequently—the Lox, X and Mase. With X it’s family. We grew up with him, but he’s a little older. We knew him for years when he was hanging in the ‘hood. We knew X before either of us had a dime. I’m talking about going half on Chinese food and splitting money for a cab. We can’t bullshit each other. X was really aggressive in the studio. But he was also a funny guy who worked hard.  X and the Lox had a special chemistry. We always had to bring in on our A game when it came to recording songs with X.”

Pour les autres tracks, checkez le sit de Vibe:

http://vibe.com/photo-galleries/full-clip-jadakiss-breaks-down-his-catalogue-feat-lox-biggie-dmx-50-cent-jay-z-rick-0/

Laisser un commentaire

